•  Meet the Commission


  • Commission Meetings: 

    Thursday, May 13, 5:00 pm | Recording & Slides 

    Translated Slide Deck: Español |  العربية | Cabo-Verdiano | 中文 | Français | Kreyòl Ayisyen | Português | Soomaali | Tiếng Việt

    Thursday, May 27, 5:00 pm | Recording & Slides

    Thursday, June 10, 5:00 pm | Recording & Slides

    Thursday, June 24, 5:00 pm | Recording & Slides

    Thursday, July 1, 5:00 pm | Recording & Slides 

    Thursday, July 8, 5:00 pm | Recording & Slides

    Public Comment Sign Up:

    Each speaker will have three (3) minutes to testify, however, if 20 or more speakers sign up to testify, time will be reduced to two (2) minutes per person. Those who require interpretation services will be allotted an additional two (2) minutes. Written testimony is encouraged and can be sent to Eva Mitchell for distribution to the Committee. Speakers may not reassign their time to others. Speakers must begin their remarks by stating their name, affiliation, and neighborhood of residence. Sign-up for public comment will close at 4:30 pm on the day of the meeting.



    Sam Acevedo, Executive Director, Boston Higher Education Resource Center (HERC); Co-Chair, BPS Opportunity and Achievement Gaps (OAG) Task Force; Member, Greater Boston Latinos Network (GLBN) 

    Celina Barrios-MillnerDirector of Equity and Inclusion, Economic Development Office, City of Boston

    Josie Colon, Student, New Mission High School; Member, Boston Student Advisory Council (BSAC)

    Rahn Dorsey, Chair, Board of Trustees, Benjamin Franklin Institute of Technology (BFIT); Former Chief of Education, City of Boston

    Pam Eddinger, President, Bunker Hill Community College

    Ivan Espinoza-Madrigal, Executive Director, Lawyers for Civil Rights

    Theresa Garcia de Quevedo, Educator and Language Acquisition Team Facilitator (LATF), Mildred Ave School

    Roxann Harvey, Chair of the Boston Special Education Parent Advisory Council (SpEdPAC)

    John Jackson, President and CEO, Schott Foundation for Public Education

    Karla Jenkins, Principal, Higginson Inclusion School (K0-2)

    Suzanne Lee, Co-Chair, English Language Learner (ELL) Task Force

    Margaret McKenna, Chairwoman, Human Rights Commission, City of Boston

    Xyra Mercer, Student, Henderson K-12 Inclusion School; Member, Boston Student Advisory Council (BSAC)

    Keith Motley, Consultant President/CEO, Urban League Massachusetts; Former Chancellor, University of Massachusetts Boston (UMASS)

    Lee Pelton, President and CEO, The Boston Foundation; Former President, Emerson College

    Paul Reville, Professor of Practice of Educational Policy and Administration, Harvard Graduate School of Education

    Ruby Reyes, Director, Boston Education Justice Alliance (BEJA)

    Nicol Riley, Assistant Diversity and Inclusion Co-Chair, Citywide Parent Council (CPC) of the Boston Public Schools

    Valerie Roberson, President, Roxbury Community College

    Jeri Robinson, Chair, BPS School Committee

    Jim Rooney, President and CEO, Greater Boston Chamber of Commerce

    Ayele Shakur, CEO, BUILD; Co-Chair, BPS Opportunity and Achievement Gaps (OAG) Task Force

    Chris Smith, President and Executive Director, Boston After School and Beyond

    Marcelo Suarez-Orozco, Chancellor, University of Massachusetts Boston (UMASS)

    Tanisha Sullivan, President, Boston branch of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP)

    Neil Sullivan, Executive Director, Private Industry Council (PIC)

    Jessica Tang, President, Boston Teachers Union

    Pastor Matt K Thompson, Pastor, Jubilee Church Boston

    Dania Vazquez, Head of School, Margarita Muniz Academy

    Grace Wai, BPS School Superintendent & Executive Team Member

    Lili Wu, Member, BPS District English Learner Advisory Committee (DELAC)