ADVANCED WORK CLASS & EXCELLENCE FOR ALL

  • Advanced Work Class (AWC)  is a program in Boston Public Schools that provides an accelerated academic curriculum for students in 4th-6th grade.

    AWC Admissions: On February 3, 2021, in light of the COVID-19 pandemic and disparate impacts on BPS students, the Boston School Committee voted to temporarily pause the policy requiring admissions testing for students to qualify for AWC. Previously, a student’s eligibility was determined by their scores on the TerraNova assessment, which was typically offered in the fall to all 3rd-grade students. BPS was unable to administer the TerraNova assessment in 2020 due to the health and safety concerns related to the pandemic. You can click here to read the proposal that led to this decision and view a recording of the February 3rd meeting.

    In addition to the temporary pause on the AWC admissions policy, the district convened an Advanced Work Class (AWC) working group to develop a longer-term policy for ensuring that all students have equitable access to rigorous and advanced learning opportunities. This working group will consider strategies that advance racial equity as they develop and propose new guidelines for the Superintendent and School Committee to review and consider. The Working Group has shared high-level recommendations, which the district will utilize to formulate an updated policy and programming model that will be presented later this school year in collaboration with the Academic team. Any changes to the admissions policy would take effect in the 2023-24 school year or later. The district will continue to engage families, school leaders, educators, and community partners in conversations about the future of the AWC program.

    While that work is still ongoing, on October 6, 2021, the Boston School Committee voted to extend the temporary flexibility of the policies governing Advanced Work Class, including AWC admissions policies for the 2022-2023 school year. This will also give the district the opportunity to focus on recovery from the Covid-19 pandemic and to consider recommendations from the AWC Working Group to develop a longer-term policy.

    Please click here for the full proposal to the School Committee around the extension of the temporary flexibility of the policy.

    For the 2022-2023 school year, BPS will not administer the TerraNova exam and no new students will be formally invited to the AWC program. Schools that made modifications to their AWC programs for the 2021-2022 school year will continue those modifications for the 2022-2023 school year. Students currently in an AWC program will continue in the program as they are promoted to the next grade. If your student will enter grade 4 in September 2022 and is interested in a school offering AWC programming this fall, please contact a Welcome Center at 617-635-9010 or visit www.bostonpublicschools.org/register.

    For the 2022-2023 school year, the following schools will offer AWC programming in grade 4. For more information on AWC programming at an individual school, please contact the school directly. Please note, there are limited seats available, and assignment to a school offering AWC does not guarantee a seat in the AWC program.

    School

    Neighborhood

    AWC Format

    Contact Information

    Condon K-8 School

    South Boston

    Selective classrooms

    Scarlett Santos Soto, 617-602-3540, Ssantossoto@bostonpublicschools.org

    Murphy K-8 School

    Dorchester 

    All classrooms

    Harry Gilliam, 617-635-8781, hgilliam@bostonpublicschools.org

    Ohrenberger School 3-8

    West Roxbury

    Selective Classrooms

    John Travis, 617-635-8157, jtravis@bostonpublicschools.org  

    Quincy Elementary

    Chinatown

    All classrooms

    Rowena Tuttle, 617-635-8497, RTuttle@bostonpublicschools.org 


    Excellence for All (EFA) is a BPS initiative that expands access to rigorous and enriching 21st-century learning experiences. Students participate in the STEM Program (coding, robotics, and 3D Printing coursework), the Scholars Program (exam school prep and executive function support), and World Languages coursework (Spanish, Mandarin, and French). Students in grades 4-6 also complete the EFA Capstone Project, where they research and propose solutions to global and community issues. At the end of each school year, EFA hosts the EFA Capstone Conference, where students present to their peers, teachers, and community partners.

    There is no admission requirement for Excellence For All.


    For the 2022-2023 school year, the following schools will offer EFA:

    School

    Neighborhood

    EFA
    Grades

    Contact Information

    Bates Elementary School

    Roslindale

    4-6

    Rodolfo Morales, 857-222-4547, rmorales2@bostonpublicschools.org 

    Curley K-8 School

    Jamaica Plain

    4-6

    Katherine Grassa, 617-635-8239, kgrassa@bostonpublicschools.org 

    Edison K-8 School

    Brighton

    4-6

    Kim Williams, 617-635-8436, kwilliams3@bostonpublicschools.org 

    Frederick Pilot Middle School

    Dorchester

    6

    Mat Antoine, 617-635-1650, mantoine@lgfnet.org 

    Gardner Pilot Academy

    Allston

    4-6

    Erica Herman, 617-635-8365, eherman@bostonpublicschools.org 

    Grew Elementary School

    Hyde Park

    4-6

    Michelle Simon, 617-635-8715, msimon3@bostonpublicschools.org 

    Guild Elementary School

    East Boston

    4-6

    Karen McCarthy, 617-635-8523, kmccarthy2@bostonpublicschools.org 

    Harvard-Kent Elementary School

    Charlestown

    4-6

    Jason Gallagher, 617-635-8358, harvard-kent@bostonpublicschools.org 

    Holmes Innovation School

    Dorchester

    4-6

    Edverette Brewster, 617-635-8681, ebrewster@bostonpublicschools.org 

    Irving Middle School

    Roslindale

    6

    Melissa Sutherland, 857-342-9345, msutherland2@bostonpublicschools.org 

    King K-8 School

    Dorchester

    4-6

    Grace-Renee Coleman, 617-635-8212, gcoleman@bostonpublicschools.org 

    Mendell Elementary School

    Roxbury

    4-6

    Julia Bott, 617-635-8234, jbott@bostonpublicschools.org 

    Orchard Gardens K-8 School

    Roxbury

    4-6

    Lauren Murdock, 617-635-1656, lmurdock@bostonpublicschools.org 

    Philbrick Elementary School

    Roslindale

    4-6

    Danladi Bobbitt, 617-635-8069, dbobbitt@bostonpublicschools.org 

    Sumner Elementary School

    Roslindale

    4-6

    Meghan Welch, 617-635-8131, mwelch2@bostonpublicschools.org 



Advanced Work Class & Excellence For All

Contact

  • AWC Testing
     
    Office of Data and Accountability
    2300 Washington Street
    Roxbury, MA 02119
     
    617-635-9554