Adult Education - Our Mission

  • To provide a variety of high-quality educational services to BPS parents, children, employees, and other Boston residents to develop their educational status, political status, economic status, and lives.

    For over 140 years, Boston Public Schools has responded to adults in need of education and has recognized that parent and family involvement is critical to the success of every child’s education. To improve learning for all children, educational opportunities are made available for parents and other adults in the community.

    We provide basic skills that prepare parents to enter the workforce, higher education, and job training. Our adult students represent the Boston community: native-born Americans and immigrants who need educational credentials, English language skills, and math proficiency to compete in the workforce.

We are accepting applications for January 2022

CONTACT

  • Department of Adult Education
     
    Madison Park Complex - Building 1
    55 Malcolm X Boulevard
    Roxbury, MA 02120
     
    Phone: 617.635.9300 
    Fax: 617.635.9045
     

    Kristen D'Avolio, Senior Director 
    kdavolio@bostonpublicschools.org

    Karla DeLeon, Director
    kdeleon@bostonpublicschools.org 

    Karen Greaves, Manager of High School Programs
    kgreaves@bostonpublicschools.org 

    Ann Ha, Recruitment & Placement Coordinator
    aha@bostonpublicschools.org

    Cynthia Barnes, Student Support
    cbarnes3@bostonpublicschools.org

    Mila Monteiro, Student Support
    mmonteiro3@bostonpublicschools.org

    Barbara Bray, Staff Assistant
    bbray@bostonpublicschools.org

    Janiel Mayhew, Secretary
    jmayhew@bostonpublicschools.org