About the Roosevelt

  • all campuses

    The Franklin D. Roosevelt K-8 School is a Boston Public School that is located on two separate campuses in two residential neighborhoods of Hyde Park.  Its quiet academic setting reflects the spirit of cooperation among the administration, staff, parents, students and community partners.

    Our school’s mission is to develop academic excellence and exemplify a community of scholars. In partnership with families and the community, our staff provides a safe, nurturing learning environment for our children. We value the individuality of each child and strive to empower every student with critical and creative thinking skills. Our staff models the habits of life-long learning, respect for others, and responsible citizenship that we aim to instill in every Roosevelt student. The Roosevelt School is a full inclusion school where students with a range of developmental disabilities and intellectual impairments sit and learn alongside mainstream students in all classrooms.

    The Roosevelt has a racially and academically diverse student population. Currently, 25% of our students receive special education services, 18.5% of our students are English Language Learners (ELLs) and all students benefit from universal free lunch. Students at the Roosevelt K-8 School have the unique benefit of beginning their learning at age three, in K0, with the opportunity to continue through grade eight. 

    School hours: 8:15-3:10